top of page

Dining Room Delight

So anyone that knows me knows that I've been fawning over a certain wallpaper for several years now.

It all started with a Pinterest post (I can't tell you how many times I've started a design quest with those words). I saw the following picture posted on the site and I knew that me and that teal (maybe my favorite color) wallpaper were meant for each other:

As a staff and faculty member at Tri-C, I get lots of perks unusual in other fields. One such perk was getting to be a "fake" client for one or our interior design students a little over two years ago. As the client, I was given a blueprint of my "fake" house which was more like a mini mansion than a house, and given the opportunity to design the digs of my dreams (Thanks Professor Durham!). I showed the student the above picture and she continued, what for me, had been an elusive quest to track down this wallpaper.

She showed up a few weeks later to our scheduled consult with a "surprise". I gasped out loud when I saw her pull a sample of my mystery wallpaper out of her bag, and then I gasped again when she told me the price. At an obscene amount per roll the sample remained taped to my dining room wall for a good year and a half until I finally had saved enough to splurge on the investment. Bob Van Gunten, another amazing contractor recommended by my friend, fabulous Interior Designer Jakecia Durham was scheduled to come out the first week of December to prep the walls and hang the paper. And then....the house flooded/collapsed, postponing my vision once again. But now, it's up, and it is AMAZING, and I'm feeling so grateful!

Here are a few pictures of the evolution of my dining room.

When I moved in three years ago:

Dining room after I had it painted to match trim and my mom's husband built me the wainscoting:

And now:

Who's coming over for dinner?!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page