top of page

Creating Sacred Spaces

So lately I have been thinking about the importance of space. I have a whole third floor that has gone unused in my house up until like two weeks ago. I wanted to create a yoga room, or a home office, or a writing studio out of it, but no matter how many hours I sat sprawled on the floor ‘dreaming’ up how it might look and rearranging what little furniture I had up there – I just couldn’t seem to adopt a design plan that felt right.


So I let it lay empty and continued working from my kitchen table, doing yoga at the studio, and writing from my bed.


And then, as it usually does, the universe started subtly beckoning me back. This time with renewed inspiration, a better sense of clarity, and the provisions needed to do the work promptly and in a way that wouldn’t break the bank.


Here’s how it went down:


One morning over coffee I was reading Meditations from the Mat: Daily Reflections on the Path of Yoga by Rolf Gages and Katrina Kenison. The passage for that day mentioned how the author had recently watched the movie Pollock.


The passage read:


"For much of the film the audience is held captive to Pollock’s addictions; his alcoholism is portrayed without sentiment or gloss. But in the midst of this gloom, there is a twenty-minute segment that is breathtaking. It is the moment when Pollock and his wife, who is also an artist, create a space for their art. They leave New York, get a house in the country, and construct a work space for painting. There is an excitement in these sequences as we realize that success in inevitable. Pollock and his wife seem to know it too – they come alive here, fully into their own powers. Suddenly their actions are deliberate and intentional, and there is a sense of inevitability, a knowing that such commitment will always bear fruit. And so, for a brief moment the audience is able to go along for the ride, as two people say yes to their dharma. It is beautiful to watch.

As I was walking away from the movie, and in the days that followed, I reflected on the place I have assigned my own art in my life. Were someone to see my life on the big screen, would the boldness with which I have embraced my dharma be inspiring? What steps am I not taking, and why?" (110-111).


Obviously, after reading this, I felt that I needed to rent the movie.


Which I did.




Obviously after watching this, I felt that I needed to get artsy.


Which I did.




In the week or so time-frame in which the above was happening I had also rented The Babysitter’s Club movie to watch with Liv and had a creative collab meeting with my artist friend Janie. We started talking about ways to promote/fundraiser for the Poem Deck we have produced and I suggested we do our own spin on what Kristy, Claudia, Mary Anne, and Stacey had done back in the 80s: designate a place for people to meet and brainstorm, a place to create and to connect (I am also now considering getting a land land so I can get that light up phone from back in the day).


Janie and I decided we want to host monthly ‘creative collective’ sessions. The themes/topics could change as our projects do, as the seasons do, as we do.


And where we would host these sessions?


You guessed it :)


I promptly pulled up Pinterest and found a pic to model the space after. (Below is actually a wall decal found on vivianferne.com)



If you have ever been inside my home, it is....I don't know...vintage chic I've been told. Lots of white/cream walls with pops of color. I would call myself a 'minimalist' but I know others vehemently disagree with that self-descriptor lol. I don't have a lot of stuff, but the stuff that I do have I love. And while I love bold statement pieces and a variety of texture, the above felt a little 'wild' for me.


On the other hand, a creative studio space felt like the perfect spot to allow myself to get messy, to let go of balance and symmetry, to experiment.


And Janie was the woman who I trusted to make it happen!


And she did (using leftover paint I already had to boot).



I love that it was her who did the space. Partially because she believes, as I do, that intent and energy are at play when we create.


I had given her keys to the house to work while I was out doing some errands and when I got home I heard the voice of a woman whom I consider a sage coming from upstairs.


It was a recording of Dr. Clarissa Pinkola Estes telling the tale of the red shoes.


I made the climb to the third floor and asked (even though I already knew the answer) if that was Dr. Estes playing from Janie's phone.


Janie answered in the affirmative explaining how she thought it was important to infuse the work and the space with the energy of the things I revere. She had known from prior conversations how much I venerate this magical medicine cantadora, or storyteller, and so she decided to paint using Estes as a soundtrack.


I mean, come on! Does it get any better!?!?!


Having a friend who is an artist that is not only willing to transform your space, but who does it with that level of love. (She is available for hire folks!)


Now all those things that used to drive me crazy about this attic space - the paint drips on the floor, the mudded up hole in the wall, the peeling wallpaper - feel as if they were designed into the plan all along. And I guess, in some strange way they were.


I invite you to come see her beautiful work, and to consecrate this space with us at our first ‘creative collective’ session.


We will be talking about what it means to have a sacred space, and how to get started creating your own.


We will also be making a collective ‘art piece’ for you to take home – from my new sacred space to yours ;)



The Deets Theme: Sacred Space When: Thursday, Oct 22, 7-8:30 PM Participant Limit: 10 people. Cost: $15 Reserve Your Spot: Venmo your non-refundable payment to @Kristina-Ambrosia-Conn What to Bring:

1) Something you hold sacred (a picture of a loved one, a piece of jewelry, a poem, etc.)

2) A piece of fabric you feel an affinity to but don’t mind parting with (an old bedsheet, shirt, curtain, tablecloth, etc.)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page