top of page

Rooms for Let: CLE

Today I took myself on a day date (nod to Julia Cameron who suggests this in her book The Artist's Way) and I have to say it was pretty fucking delightful. As someone who loves being a part of a couple, who loves love, and who won the hopeless romantic award in high school stepping out solo has not historically been my jam (at least not by choice). Turns out that this whole loving yourself thing has proven to have a bit of a learning curve for me. But today, I think I made some serious progress in the self love department.

After some morning coffee with extra extra cream and tackling some long overdue dusting, I thought about how I might spend my kid free day. I considered seeing "Christina, An Irreverent Passion" at CPH. Pondered a psychic reading by one of my fav mediums. Briefly entertained the idea of grabbing lunch at the Willougbhy Rib Cookoff. Almost dressed for a day on the trails. And then a post from Cleveland Magazine popped up in my IG feed (one of the nice things about being a self-proclaimed social media addict is there is no shortage of ads for things to do and I love doing!). The post was for Rooms to Let: CLE. I have been wanting to attend this for years, every since my good friend Bridget first told me about it. Due to previous commitments, the timing to attend just never worked out. Until today! And the exhibition did not disappoint!

Rooms to Let: CLE is an exhibit where area artists display their creations in 3 soon to be demolished houses in Slavic Village. Part of the purpose of the exhibit is to give “homes a proper farewell by means of artistic expression. Every demolished home is a tragedy with most falling with little awareness. This project is meant to pay homage to the stories buried inside walls, offer artists full range to experiment with non-traditional spaces, and empower community members to become involved in improving their neighborhoods” (Informational handout given at welcome booth).

As I was walking the route to the houses in the exhibit, I couldn’t help but wonder what the people who actually lived in the neighborhood thought about being ‘put on display’. I felt very aware of, and very uncomfortable by my privilege as a ‘spectator’ to lives lived very differently than mine. I feel compelled to acknowledge the dissonance, even as I'm unsure what to do with it.

I’ve included some pics of the various exhibits (if you happen to know any of the names of artists whose works I included and didn't tag, please share so I can give them proper credit).

I also loved learning the backstories behind the art which I've included bits of below:

Hello Kitty Room: Four Directions by Eranah Adorjan. (Pic of colorful room with big butterfly on the wall and the words “All of your steps have brought you here” painted on floor.) Her statement reads, “‘Hello Kitty Room: Four Directions’ is an immersive installation made in response to the original space, which was an empty room painted in deep violent with bubble gum pink trim adorned with Hello Kitty stickers and punched out holes in the walls. I had very mixed emotions when I first entered the space and I wondered if it was a child's or young adult's room...My overall thought during making was, when children walk in this space, will they enjoy the colorful chaos? The four directions and quote written on the floor is a reminder to adults that no matter what challenges or trials you’ve been through, all our steps have brought us to the moment we are standing in presently and we made it through.”

Loved chatting with artist Dina Hoeynk about this collaborative piece she did with her students from Bard East High Schooll. The students wanted viewers to imagine how they might fill in the empty space of the frames.

Attachment and Detachment: The Spiders and Spirits used what was left behind by Joyce Morrow Jones. (Pic of orange web with toys in it.) “The closet features all the miscellaneous items which were left behind. The spirits of the house (in silhouette ) playing with toys which still remain viable to be loved and cherished, instead of thrown away. The toys spun into the spider webs are symbolic of being untended - yet still active. They want to be seen and perhaps, loved by another child who will rescue them.”

Pic of kitchen covered in plaster like material. I accidentally deleted the pic I took of artist’s name so if you are reading this and know, please comment so I can give proper credit. The artist statement was interesting as the artist explained that while she was experimenting with changing the meaning of an object by manipulating its surface she also discovered that her grandmother had Alzheimer's which is caused by buildup of plaque between neurons in the brain. The artist explained how her work on this piece was also a way to process that discovery.

Photographs of women on white circle with yellow background. I loved this piece which celebrated woman as “life giver,” “‘goddess” and “light.” Artist Asia Armour had this to say about “The Mother” - Pregnancy is such a wondrous process. Women's bodies go through so much we are literally the closest to life and death when giving birth. The female body is so magical. So, I used my space to celebrate women at their highest self.”

I am already looking forward to attending this event in the years to come. The sacred spaces of these homes were honored and celebrated, and in many of the rooms art was used as a call to activism.

Thank you to all of you who continue to share your work with the world in ways that force us to see, reflect, and reconsider, and for allowing us to participate in the process.

After spending a few hours admiring the exhibits, I grabbed some pork nachos at Saucisson, treated myself to ice cream at Daisey’s, hit the beach for meditation, and finished up the evening with a book, a bath, and stroll around the block.

My entire day cost me less than $15 and tended to my physical, intellectual, creative, and spiritual needs. I remember reading somewhere that you should become the type of person you want to date. Box checked.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page