top of page

Those voices!

One of my favorite things in the world is live theater. My sister and I have season tickets to the Broadway Series at Playhouse Square in Cleveland, OH.

Fun fact - outside of NYC, Cleveland has the largest theater arts district in the United States. How cool is that?!

Yesterday, we saw show 2 of the series - Les Miserables. And omg! It was amazing. Talk about a sweeping musical. The voices were strong and soulful, the sets stunning, and the story haunting. In the world of musical theater Les Mis is a classic, joining the ranks of Phantom and Cats. In fact, according to Cennarium it is one one of the 10 Longest Running Broadway Shows of all time. I have never seen Cats (am I missing something? I've heard mixed reviews), but I have seen Phantom a number of times, and by the third or so viewing I was sort of bored. This was not my experience with Les Mis. To be fair, I've not seen it as much as Phantom and it has been years since I've seen it on stage, but I fell in love with the music and the characters all over again last night, and after the stirring performance, I can't ever image getting bored of the show.

The production runs through Sunday and if you had even the slightest inkling to go, I'd be on the phone purchasing tickets. If you can't make the live performance, but are still interested in the story (one of injustice, revolution, and love) I'd suggest the 2012 film version. I am not a Russell Crowe fan at all, but I do remember being super impressed with the cinematography of the motion picture, and who doesn't love Hugh Jackman and Anne Hathaway. And speaking of Hugh, another great musical film to add to your watch list is The Greatest Showman. The soundtrack is super catchy and the vocals of Hugh and Michelle Williams were impressive. I had no idea Williams could sing! And those who know me know I go for the younger men - hello Zac Efron! I will add Showman to the list of shows I can't wait to see come to NYC. I'm still waiting on Alanis Morissette's Jagged Little Pill and an Evita revival!

My tears from Les Mis will barely have time to dry before Miss Saigon (one of my all time favorite) hits town this January.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page