top of page

39 things to do before I turn 39


As I was doing some research for the Rogue_Revel program I read about a woman named Rashaunda Anderson who compiled a list of the 30 things she wanted to do before turning 30. I figured given my upcoming 38th birthday this week, I would follow suit and write down the 39 things I’d like to accomplish before turning 39.

Here they are in no specific order:

  1. Do something special with Liv (like another surprise Great Wolf weekend).

  2. Host ten workshops promoting the Rogue_Revel program. The first one I just scheduled today. It will be on Sunday, April 8 from 11-1 at Confluence in Cleveland Heights. Stay tuned for a follow-up blog in the upcoming weeks with more details.

  3. Summit a mountain.

  4. Publish something (again).

  5. Run a half marathon.

  6. Finalize my divorce (finally).

  7. Make a piece of art for my house with friends.

  8. Get through Destinos.

  9. Volunteer.

  10. Complete Nanowrimo.

  11. Learn something about Greek Mythology (I would love to take a class on this – so if anyone hears of anything please holler).

  12. Quit a nasty habit.

  13. Stay at the Syliva.

  14. Take a vacation alone.

  15. Rip out those damn bushes

  16. Get built-in built.

  17. Participate in a book club.

  18. Get another tattoo.

  19. I had to steal this one from Stephanie Franklin’s list in the same article referenced above: “Fly to another city just to have dinner with friends.”

  20. Actually, I’ll steal two from Franklin: “Appear in a cabaret show [and] a Broadway play." Oh, and be in a parade! (That one I came up with on my own! Ashley - we can do this one together when you run for Board of Education!)

  21. Pilot something new at work.

  22. Get a tenure track teaching position at Tri-C.

  23. Attend a family wedding with my date.

  24. Finalize plans to travel to India.

  25. Purchase a geode.

  26. Take Olivia to that diamond store with gems and minerals.

  27. Take Liv to that Christmas town in Michigan.

  28. Acquire a pool (in a way that leaves me only happy - this is too hard to explain).

  29. Build a new patio complete with a pergola and fairy lights.

  30. Get more sleep.

  31. Make my parents proud.

  32. Make my daughter proud.

  33. Reconnect with old friends.

  34. Seriously consider teacher training.

  35. Get organized (this is about as unlikely as me appearing in a cabaret show by this time next year, but I’ve always been about dreaming big so it’s going on this list).

  36. Learn to play a song on the guitar from my daughter.

  37. Be the subject of a still life art class.

  38. Attend Tri-C jazz fest (I have no idea how I've not been to this yet!).

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page