top of page

Cleveland Kids' Book Bank

This weekend I attended a fundraiser celebrating the Cleveland Kids' Book Bank 2nd Birthday Bash and it was A-MAZING! The Cleveland Kids' Book Bank aims to "foster improved literacy and a love of reading by providing free books to children in need" (http://www.kidsbookbank.org/).

Friend, and colleague Sarah Fuller (how do I not have a picture of you from this fab festivity) helped throw this literary bash as part of The Young Professionals Board. It was held at Vosh in Lakewood. Tickets were an affordable $35 and included all you could eat apps, wine and beer, birthday cake, raffle, blind date with a book, photo opps, and music.

The raffle baskets were pretty wonderful, and you could purchase an arms length of tickets for $20. Here's a picture of just a few:

I walked a way a raffle winner, but my favorite element of the evening was blind date with a book. I loved this idea so much I want to find a way to steal it and host my own party around the concept.

In an effort to contribute to the cause I will be placing a basket outside my office door at Tri-C's Eastern Campus to collect donations for the book bank. The bank asks that books be new or only gently used, and are most in need of "early childhood, easy readers and books featuring minorities" (http://www.kidsbookbank.org/get-involved.html). I know that I work with a lot of folks who love reading as much as I do, and probably can think of a title or two they would like to give to a kid who might need it.

I loved this event and the ladies I got to share it with! Can't wait till next year!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page