top of page

Partnering with Harmony Yoga!

I'm excited to report that 2 of the 3 monthly meet-in's for the Rogue Revel program that runs from June 21-September 21 have been planned in conjunction with Harmony Yoga Studios. If you read the blog, but haven't explored the rest of this site please do!

Yoga, Harmony Studios and the instructors who teach there, and amazing studio owner and practitioner Natalie Lorber quite literally saved my sanity after my divorce.

In the spirit of full disclosure I used to hate yoga. I totally didn't get it. The breathing threw me off, I didn't feel like I was getting a 'real' workout, it was hard not to focus on my roll of belly fat hanging over my too tight yoga pants. I actually even remember trying a VHS session at home (back in the days of VHS) and smoking a cigarette while in Warrior 2 pose. I mean, who does that? Or at least admits to doing that! I quickly ditched the tape, and instead wrote a short story for my undergrad creative writing class on the ridiculous experience.

Fast forward several years: I'm married and pregnant with my first (and only) child. My friend Natalie opens her own yoga studio, and graciously gifts me some prenatal yoga passes which I didn't use, because after all - I didn't really like yoga.

Fast forward 5 more years:My baby is now 4, I just lost my marriage and my home, and am in probably the darkest head space I've ever experienced. I'm desperate to feel better so I am willing to try anything and everything - meditation, running (this is a tell-tale sign that something was going on with me), journaling, and yes, even yoga.

Fast forward to now: I love yoga. I attend workshops and festivals, and even make my friends who hate yoga go with me :) My daughter and I try to make the Saturday classes. As a single parent who at times struggles with childcare as most single people do, I am so appreciative that Harmony offers a children's yoga and craft class at their Zen Studio and a parent class at their Hot Studio down the street at the same time! #thankyou

So here is what I have learned about yoga throughout the years:

- it can most definitely be an acquired taste

- it matters who the teacher is (if you don't like one class, try a different one because they vary vastly depending on where you go and who is teaching)

- while some classes are more meditative and relaxed, some can totally kick your ass in terms of a workout

- if you give it enough time, you'll understand people's almost cult like obsession to it ;)

Now that I'm a believer, having seeing the results it has had for me physically, mentally, and spiritually, I've decided to include some yoga/meditation sessions as part of the Rogue Revel experience. The first will be a private yoga workshop for our group on a Saturday in July (TBA) from 1:30-2:45 at Harmony's Zen Studio led by Jen Ezell. The second will be a a walking meditation (date still to be determined), also led by Jen.

I so look forward to sharing these experiences with you! If you haven't applied to the program yet please do! And spread the love by sharing the link!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page